Clubs & Extracurriculars

CHUH Logo

Cleveland Heights-University Heights City School District

Clubs & Extracurriculars

Clubs & Extracurriculars


Extracurriculars

Club

Staff Advisor

Meeting Days/Times/Location

Requirements

Description

Art Club

A. Troy (a_troy@chuh.org)
 TBD 
(as of 8/26/2018) 
All Grade Levels 
 
None 

Art club focuses on creating works of art that enhance the school environment. Students work collectively and individually. Students also create personal works that focus on different art forms and techniques. 
Game Club M. Dawson (ma_dawson@chuh.org), and R. Seton (r_seton@chuh.org)
 Wednesdays after school
 2:55-4:00pm
 Location: Cafeteria
None- just come and socialize for a good time! 
Game Club is a social activity for any Heights Middle School student!  Once a week, Game Club participants gather after school to enjoy tabletop games with friends.  An assortment of games will be provided.
 
Mr. Seton and Ms. Dawson are present to help facilitate the games.
 
Challenge Choir
J. Ross (jac_ross@chuh.org) and T. Rood (t_rood@chuh.org) 
Wednesdays, Choir Room

3:00-4:00pm

 All Grade Levels 
 
 None
Challenge Choir is an opportunity for students who love to sing to get together after school once a week to do so, whether they are in Vocal Music class during the day or not. We perform at the high school during their musical, as well as at the Spring Concert at HMS.
Mug Club J. Denk (j_denk@chuh.org)  
TBD 
(as of 8/26/2018) 
 None  Mug Club is Heights Middle School's student book club. Students are assigned a new book each month and meet during lunch one Friday a month to discuss the book and enjoy snacks. 
Heights Rock Strings
K. Holaway (k_holaway@chuh.org)
Mondays 2:50-3:30 p.m., Orchestra Room
Open to all students registered for Orchestra at HMS   Heights Rock Strings is an extracurricular string ensemble open to middle school musicians that want to play popular music styles including, but not limited to rock, pop, jazz, and movie music. 
RMS Power of the Pen
7th grade: C. Gerber (c_gerber@chuh.org)
 
8th grade: J. Denk (j_denk@chuh.org)
7th grade: Tuesday OR Thursday in Room 228
 
8th grade:  
7th grade tryouts have already been held and the team has been determined.   Power of the Pen is a competition team for student writers.  
MMS Power of the Pen 
 8th grade: J. Andres (j_andres@chuh.org)
 7th grade: A. Riolo (a_riolo@chuh.org)  
TBD
(as of 8/26/2018)  
  Power of the Pen is a competition team for student writers.
Ski and Snowboard 
M. Hach (m_hach@chuh.org)
P. Ochoa (p_ochoa@chuh.org) 
TBD
(as of 8/26/2018) 
All Grade Levels 
 
No experience necessary. 
Go to Brandywine on Tuesdays for 5 times, lessons are included, rental is included, LOTS of fun, get rid of those Winter blues! 
 National Junior Honor Society
 W. Ward-Price (w_ward@chuh.org) and
A. Gregory (a_gregory@chuh.org) 
Location TBD  
 Meeting Dates
 September 9, 27
 October 4, 25
 November 1, 29
 December 6
 January 24
 February 7, 28
 March 7
 April 4, 25
 May 1, 23

 
7/8 Grade invited
Students only 
 
Student Council 
L. Radke (l_radke@chuh.org) and B. Hawkins (teacherhawkins@yahoo.com)
TBD 
(as of 8/26/2018) 
 GPA, teacher recommendations, student council election for officers. The purpose of the student council is to give students an opportunity to develop leadership by organizing and carrying out school activities and service projects. In addition to planning events that contribute to school spirit and community welfare, the student council is the voice of the student body.
Jazz Ensemble
P. Hungerford  (p_hungerford@chuh.org)
 Mondays 3-3:30 p.m.
 Ability to play an instrument  To learn about and to play jazz music
RMS MSAN (Minority Student Achievement Network)
D. Oden (d_oden@chuh.org),  
Z. Bergen (z_bergen@chuh.org)
Tuesdays 2:55-4:00 p.m.
Choir room (Mr. Ross's Room)
 
 
Variety of MSAN Field Trips throughout the year
 
Variety of Family Events throughout the year 
All Grade Levels
 
GPA 2.5
 MSAN , Minority Student Achievement provides tutoring, motivational speakers, cultural enrichment, parental support, encouragement and motivation for minority students. The mission of MSAN is to eliminate the achievement gap between majority and minority students. MSAN meets more than 30 times in a school year! 
MMS MSAN (Minority Student Achievement Network) 
D. Frost (d_frost@chuh.org), 
 
  All Grade Levels  MSAN , Minority Student Achievement provides tutoring, motivational speakers, cultural enrichment, parental support, encouragement and motivation for minority students. The mission of MSAN is to eliminate the achievement gap between majority and minority students. MSAN meets more than 30 times in a school year!
VEX Robotics
J. Diligente (j_diligente@chuh.org)
Thursdays, 3:15-4 p.m.  
All Grade Levels 
Build robots using VEX IQ kits
LEGO Robotics
A. Statler (a_statler@chuh.org)
Wednesdays 2:55-4:30 p.m., room T112
Team is already formed- new students are welcome after the competition season is over (January-February) Students in LEGO Robotics build and program a robot out of LEGO bricks to complete a series of tasks.  We also work on teamwork strategies, as students are often from different grade levels and do not know each other well.
The HMS Times (Student Newspaper)
J. Andres (j_andres@chuh.org)
TBD
(as of 8/26/2018) 
Passing ELA, Eligible for school extra-curricular activities The Heights Middle School Times is a student newspaper club for all eligible middle school students. Students may participate in creative writing activities (like poetry and spoken word), photography, advice columns, comics, become reporters for sports events, and more! Additionally, there are several leadership positions (chief editor, section editors) as a member of the staff.  
 Environmental Club P. Adorjan (p_adorjan@chuh.org)
Fridays 3-4pm
 
 All Grade Levels
 
 None
 Our goal is to raise money to fund endangered species
programs, raise awareness in the community, learn more about current
environmental issues and enjoy nature!
MMS Ladies of Leadership  A. Calloway (a_calloway@chuh.org) 
2nd Wednesday of every month 
 
Time: 3pm-4pm
Location: B111
Start: October 10, 2018

Students will have to apply. Ms. Calloway will begin to hand out applications after Labor Day.
 
All Grade Levels 
 
 
An open mind
Ladies of Leadership is an after school club to give female students an opportunity to develop leadership skills by organizing and carrying out activities and service projects. Ladies of Leadership also gives our female students a positive opportunity to interact with peers and discuss pressing issues that arise in their lives. 
RMS Ladies of Leadership 
A. Gregory (A_Gregory@chuh.org), 
W. Ward-Price (w_ward@chuh.org),  and T. Jordan-Shaw (t_jordan@chuh.org)
Location TBD
 
Meeting Dates:
September 13, 20
October 11, 18
November 15
December 13
January 17
February 14, 21
March 14, 21
April 11, 18
May 9 (Mother's Day Dinner 6:30-8:00pm)
 
(as of 8/26/2018) 
All Grade Levels   
View text-based website | Search