Welcome, public visitor.  
Main Menu
Clubs & Extracurriculars

Club Staff Advisor Meeting Days/Times/Location Requirements Description
Art Club
A. Troy (a_troy@chuh.org)
  None  Create individual and Group Art
Challenge Choir
 J. Ross (jac_ross@chuh.org) and T. Rood (t_rood@chuh.org) 
Wednesdays, Choir Room
 None Challenge Choir is an opportunity for students who love to sing to get together after school once a week to do so, whether they are in Vocal Music class during the day or not. We perform at the high school during their musical, as well as at the Spring Concert at HMS.
Mug Club J. Denk (j_denk@chuh.org)   One Friday per month during 7th and 8th grade lunch periods  None  Mug Club is Heights Middle School's student book club. Students are assigned a new book each month and meet during lunch one Friday a month to discuss the book and enjoy snacks. 
Strolling Strings
K. Holaway (k_holaway@chuh.org)
Mondays 2:45-3:30 p.m., Orchestra Room
Open to all students registered for Orchestra at HMS   Strolling Strings is an extracurricular string ensemble that explores a variety of music styles including, but not limited to, fiddle, jazz, rock, and pop. 
RMS Power of the Pen
J. Denk (j_denk@chuh.org)
Thursdays 2:50-3:45 p.m., Media Center
7th grade RMS students only Power of the Pen is a competition team for student writers.  
Student Council 
L. Radke (l_radke@chuh.org) and B. Hawkins (teacherhawkins@yahoo.com)
Thursdays 2:50-3:15 p.m.  GPA, teacher recommendations, student council election for officers. The purpose of the student council is to give students an opportunity to develop leadership by organizing and carrying out school activities and service projects. In addition to planning events that contribute to school spirit and community welfare, the student council is the voice of the student body.
Jazz Ensemble
P. Hungerford (p_hungerford@chuh.org)
 Mondays 3-3:30 p.m.
 Ability to play an instrument  To learn about and to play jazz music
MSAN (Minority Student Achievement Network)
D. Oden (d_oden@chuh.org) and Z. Bergen (z_bergen@chuh.org)
Tuesdays 3-3:45 p.m.
 GPA 2.5  MSAN , Minority Student Achievement provides tutoring, motivational speakers, cultural enrichment, parental support, encouragement and motivation for minority students. The mission of MSAN is to eliminate the achievement gap between majority and minority students. MSAN meets more than 30 times in a school year! 
VEX Robotics
J. Diligente (j_diligente@chuh.org)
Tuesdays and Thursdays, 3:15-4 p.m. None  Build robots using Vex IQ kits
LEGO Robotics
A. Statler (a_statler@chuh.org)
Tuesdays 3-4 p.m., room T112
None Students in LEGO Robotics build and program a robot out of LEGO bricks to complete a series of tasks.  We also work on teamwork strategies, as students are often from different grade levels and do not know each other well.
The HMS Times (Student Newspaper)
J. Andres (j_andres@chuh.org)
Wednesdays 2:55-3:30 p.m.
Passing ELA, Eligible for school extra-curricular activities The Heights Middle School Times is a student newspaper club for all eligible middle school students. Students may participate in creative writing activities (like poetry and spoken word), photography, advice columns, comics, become reporters for sports events, and more! Additionally, there are several leadership positions (chief editor, section editors) as a member of the staff.  
2155 Miramar Boulevard • University Heights, OH 44118 • 216-371-7171
                                  

Board of Education • 2155 Miramar Boulevard • University Heights, OH 44118 • 216-371-7171 • info@chuh.org
© 2018. Cleveland Heights-University Heights City School District. All Rights Reserved.

School CMS created by eSchoolView
Quick-Edit Login