Student Services - Special Education

Department of Student Services
(216) 371-7435
2014-2015

The Student Services Department is responsible for providing support services to students and their families.  The following programs and personnel are part of student services:  special education, school psychology, school social work which includes the school attendance program, nursing, speech/language and ELL services, Response to Intervention, school counseling, gifted and fine arts, safety and security, and the expulsion/appeals process.  Below is contact information and school assignments for district staff.  

Name

Position

Location

Phone

Email

Jeffrey W. Johnston, Ph.D

Director of Student Services

Board of Education

(216) 320-2160

J_Johnston@chuh.org

Lynda Holland

Confidential Admin. Asst.

Board of Education

(216) 320-2154

L_Holland@chuh.org

 

Special Education Staff:

Name

Position

Location

Phone

Email

Judy Dell’Aquila, Ph.D

Coordinator of Special Education

(Elementary)

Board of Education

(216) 320-2066

J_Dell’Aquila@chuh.org

Hollis Munoz, Ph.D

Coordinator of Special Education

(Secondary)

Board of Education

(216) 320-2158

H_Munoz@chuh.org

Erin Hanna

Program Specialist-Compliance

Board of Education

(216) 320-2325

E_Hanna@chuh.org

Charlene Rice

Staff Assistant

Board of Education

(216) 371-7435

C_Rice@chuh.org

Joan Webster

Staff Assistant

Board of Education

(216) 371-7435

J_Webster@chuh.org

Eileen Lynette

Staff Assistant

Board of Education

(216) 320-2055

E_Lynette@chuh.org

 

School Psychologists:

Name

Position

Location(s)

Phone

Email

Joanne Berkovitz

School Psychologist

BOE (Nonpublic schools)

(216) 320-5038

J_Berkovitz@chuh.org

Michael Fiala

School Psychologist

CHHS- Legacy, Renaissance/Options

(216) 320-3074

M_Fiala@chuh.org

Deborah Finizia

School Psychologist

Gearity Early Childhood

 

(216) 320-4514

D_Finizia@chuh.org

Carrie Reilly

School Psychologist

CHHS-Mosaic/Separate Facility,BOE

(216) 320-5036

C_Reilly@chuh.org          

Michelle Cecconi

School Psychologist

Fairfax

Canterbury

(216) 320-5027

M_Cecconi@chuh.org                      

Kathleen Kotnik

School Psychologist

Boulevard

Noble

(216) 320-5031

K_Kotnick @chuh.org

Melissa Lewis 

School Psychologist

Monticello

(216) 371-6520

 M_Lewis @chuh.org

Olga Vaynberg

School Psychologist

Roxboro Elementary

 

(216) 320-5028

O_Vaynberg @chuh.org

Jeanne Wagoner

School Psychologist

Roxboro MS

CHHS- Real

(216) 320-3136

J_Wagoner@chuh.org                    

Cheryl Zawacki

School Psychologist

Oxford

Gearity

(216) 320-5025

C_Zawacki@chuh.org

 

School Social Workers and AASAP Program:

Name

Position

Location(s)

Phone

Email

Karen Allen

School Social Worker

Blvd/Oxford/Gearity

(216) 320-5037

K_Allen@chuh.org

Wendy Burkey

School Social Worker

Noble/Monticello

(216) 320-5023

W_Burkey@chuh.org

Allison Craig

School Social Worker

CHHS-Real

(216) 320-3017

A_Craig@chuh.org

Kristin Dadas

School Social Worker

CHHS-Legacy

(216) 320-3213

K_Dadas@chuh.org

Faith Gordon

School Social Worker

CHHS-Mosaic

(216) 320-3066

F_Gordon@chuh.org

Carmen Kottha

School Social Worker

CHHS-Night School

(216) 371-7101

C_Kottha@chuh.org

Cynthia Schmidt      

School Social Worker

Cant/Roxboro ES

(216) 320-5026

C_Schmidt@chuh.org

Josephine Shelton-Townes         

School Social Worker

Roxboro MS/Fairfax

 

(216) 320-5035

J_Shelton-townes@chuh.org

Caryl Yoo

School Social Worker

CHHS-Renaissance

(216) 320-3081

C_Yoo@chuh.org

 

School Nurses:

Name

Position

Location(s)

Phone

Email

Rose Varcelli

School Nurse

CHHS /Options

(216) 320-3109

R_Varcelli@chuh.org

Wilhelmina Charles

School Nurse

Oxford

Monticello

(216) 320-4955

(216) 320-3719

W_Charles@chuh.org

Marcy Kaufman

School Nurse

Noble

Roxboro ES

(216) 320-4905

(216) 320-4611

M_Kaufman@chuh.org

Linda Rudy

School Nurse-Head

Roxboro MS

Head

(216) 320-3519

 

L_Rudy@chuh.org

Margaret Sivakoff

School Nurse

Gearity

Boulevard

(216) 320-4854

(216) 320-4653

P_Sivakoff@chuh.org

Margie Rossander

School Nurse

Fairfax

Canterbury

(216) 320-4805

(216) 320-4713

M_Rossander@chuh.org

 

Speech/Language Pathologists/ English Language Learners (ELL):

Name

Position

Location(s)

Phone

Email

Marilyn Gardner

Speech/Language Pathologist

Fairfax/Roxboro ES/

JP/AU

(216) 320-5022

 

M_Gardner@chuh.org

Amanda Geil

Speech/Language Pathologist

Noble/Canterbury

(216) 320-5019

A_Geil@chuh.org

Leah Coburn

Speech/Language

Pathologist

CHHS/Boulevard

Nonpublic Schools

(216) 320-5030

L_Coburn@chuh.org

Reeva Perse

Speech/Language

Pathologist

Gearity Early Childhood

(216) 320-4516

R_Perse@chuh.org

Michelle Toth

Speech/Language Pathologist

Oxford

(216) 371-6525

M_Toth@chuh.org

Marcia Dawson

Speech/Language

Pathologist

Monticello

Roxboro MS Itinerant

(216) 371-6520

(216) 371-7440

 

M_Dawson@chuh.org

Kathleen Scully

ELL

CHHS

(216) 320-3092

K_Scully@chuh.org

 

School Counselors:

Name

Position

Location

Phone

Email

Mary Anderson

Guidance Counselor

CHHS – Tech Ed

(216) 320-3045

M_Anderson@chuh.org

Ann Bradley

Guidance Counselor

Roxboro Middle

(216) 320-3507

A_Bradley@chuh.org

Patricia Buckner

Guidance Counselor

Noble

(216) 320-4908

P_Buckner@chuh.org

Darlene Byrd

Guidance Counselor

Roxboro ES

(216) 320-4614

D_Byrd@chuh.org

Ryketa Carr

Guidance Counselor

Monticello

(216) 320-3715

R_Carr@chuh.org

Jennifer Colvin

Guidance Counselor

Monticello

(216) 371-6520

J_Colvin@chuh.org

Kristie Cooper

Guidance Counselor

Options

(216) 320-2393

K_Cooper@chuh.org

Sarah Coyne

Guidance Counselor

Roxboro ES

(216) 320-4614

S_Coyne@chuh.org

Michael Dixon

Guidance Counselor

CHHS - Legacy

(216) 320-3068

M_Dixon@chuh.org

Heather Higham

Guidance Counselor

Gearity

(216) 320-4863

H_Higham@chuh.org

Michele Jackson

Guidance Counselor

Options

(216) 320-2390

M_Jackson@chuh.org

Kim Lash

Guidance Counselor

CHHS – Citywide

(216) 320-3073

K_Lash@chuh.org

Gladys McCauley

Guidance Counselor

CHHS

(216) 371-7101

G_McCauley@chuh.org

Tandra Menefee

Guidance Counselor

CHHS - Real

(216) 320-3090

T_Menefee@chuh.org

Christine Miller

Guidance Counselor

Canterbury

(216) 320-4705

C_Miller@chuh.org

Michael Murray

Guidance Counselor

Roxboro MS

(216) 320-3510

M_Murray@chuh.org

Joan Organ

Guidance Counselor

Monticello

(216) 320-3716

J_Organ@chuh.org

David Peake

Guidance Counselor

CHHS - Renaissance

(216) 320-3207

D_Peake@chuh.org

Betsy Race

Guidance Counselor

Roxboro MS

(216) 371-7440

B_Race@chuh.org

Haethem Rasul

Guidance Counselor

CHHS - Mosaic

(216) 320-3036

H_Rasul@chuh.org

Melinda Stoicoiu

Guidance Counselor

Fairfax

(216) 320-4804

M_Stoicoiu@chuh.org

Marvin Watson

Guidance Counselor

Bellefaire-ITU

(216) 320-8424

M_Watson@chuh.org

Mary Wise

Guidance Counselor

Boulevard

(216) 320-4654

M_Wise@chuh.org

Kimberly Woods

Guidance Counselor

Oxford

(216) 320-4954

K_Woods@chuh.org

 

Expulsion & Appeals:

Name

Position

Location

Phone

Email

Reginald Williams, Esq.

Impartial Hearing Officer

Board of Education

(216) 320-2070

Reg_Williams@chuh.org

Joan Webster         

Staff Assistant

Board of Education

(216) 371-7435

J_Webster@chuh.org

 

Gifted & Fine Arts:

Toia Robinson

Coord. of  Gifted & Fine Arts

Board of Education

(216) 320-2182

T_Robinson@chuh.org

 

Safety & Security:

Bryan Loretz

Coord. of Safety & Security

CHHS

(216) 320-2063

B_Loretz@chuh.org

 

Special Education Eligibility and Services

When a parent or teacher has academic or behavioral concerns about a student, a request for consultation is made to the school Student Assistance Team.  Members of the team may vary based upon presenting concerns; however the parents are a critical component to this process.  One of the team’s primary functions is to develop interventions and supports to address the targeted areas of concern.  If a disability is suspected, parents are involved in the subsequent planning of the assessment and determination of eligibility (as defined by state and federal law).  The school district is responsible for identifying all children birth through 21 years of age, who may have a disability.

When a student is determined eligible for special education, an Individual Education Plan (IEP) is developed to address the areas of need by: identifying goals and determining the appropriate special education services and the least restrictive environment to deliver the services.  For preschool children, the continuum of special education services may range from supports in the home/day care or typical preschool, to a preschool classroom that includes preschool children with disabilities and typically developing preschoolers.  These classes are co-taught by an early childhood teacher and an early childhood special education teacher.  For school age children, the continuum of services may include: special education teacher services within the general education classroom, individual or small group instruction (within or outside of the classroom), and special education resource rooms.  The district is required to provide services to identified children three through 21 years of age.In addition to special education teacher services, related services may be included in the IEP to support identified goals.  Examples of related services are:  speech/language therapy, occupational therapy, physical therapy, orientation and mobility training, adapted physical education, work study services and vocational special education.